PlaymoFriends

Getting Started => Technical Support/Testing => Topic started by: GrahamB on January 17, 2018, 09:16:57

Title: Testing image sizes
Post by: GrahamB on January 17, 2018, 09:16:57
Here is my original image, width 1000, height 667:
(http://i1287.photobucket.com/albums/a621/GrahamB2013/IMG_5000a_zpsofuagpnp.jpg)
 Here is the same image with size modified by adding "width=500 height=333" after "[img" at the start of the code
Like this...
img width=500 height=333]http://i1287.photobucket.com/albums/a621/GrahamB2013/IMG_5000a_zpsofuagpnp.jpg[/img]
(I omitted [ at the start so the software treats this line as text)

(http://i1287.photobucket.com/albums/a621/GrahamB2013/IMG_5000a_zpsofuagpnp.jpg)

Note- the width and height figures must stay in the same proportion as for the original picture, or it will come out distorted, like this (width 500, height 600)
(http://i1287.photobucket.com/albums/a621/GrahamB2013/IMG_5000a_zpsofuagpnp.jpg)
Title: Re: Testing image sizes
Post by: bml87 on January 17, 2018, 09:45:55
Very useful! Thanks :D
Title: Re: Testing image sizes
Post by: Klickteryx on January 17, 2018, 10:09:35
check
Title: Re: Testing image sizes
Post by: tahra on January 17, 2018, 10:16:04
I took the liberty of using your pic, GrahamB ;)

You can specify the width only (that was my doubt), hence sparing you the need to figure out the proper height ;)

Code: [Select]
[img width=500]http://i1287.photobucket.com/albums/a621/GrahamB2013/IMG_5000a_zpsofuagpnp.jpg[/img]
(http://i1287.photobucket.com/albums/a621/GrahamB2013/IMG_5000a_zpsofuagpnp.jpg)

if you wrap the code with the  [ code ] tag (minus spaces), it doesn't get "interpreted"
Title: Re: Testing image sizes
Post by: bml87 on January 17, 2018, 10:46:49
I took the liberty of using your pic, GrahamB ;)

You can specify the width only (that was my doubt), hence sparing you the need to figure out the proper height ;)


Great! Thanks, Tahra :) !

Maybe a Mod should stick a Topic like "Read this before posting images" in the Diorama Forum? Handy for new members :)
Title: Re: Testing image sizes
Post by: Pynedor on January 17, 2018, 23:24:21
Maybe a Mod should stick a Topic like "Read this before posting images" in the Diorama Forum? Handy for new members :)

It's probably fine here for now (assuming people would come to this area of the forum for help on things like this). And I don't think this is a major issue, since people usually manage to post images at an appropriate size.

Also, there are several areas of the forum in which pictures are often posted. Posting a reminder thread in only one area would be awkward, and posting one in every area would be bothersome. <*)
Title: Re: Testing image sizes
Post by: GrahamB on January 19, 2018, 22:24:27
I took the liberty of using your pic, GrahamB ;)

You can specify the width only (that was my doubt), hence sparing you the need to figure out the proper height ;)

Code: [Select]
[img width=500]http://i1287.photobucket.com/albums/a621/GrahamB2013/IMG_5000a_zpsofuagpnp.jpg[/img]
if you wrap the code with the  [ code ] tag (minus spaces), it doesn't get "interpreted"

No problem, Tahra. Thanks for those two useful tips (1. width only needed, saves trying to work out what the height should be to keep it in proportion, 2. [ code ] tag).

Presumably it would be possible to create an image insertion 'button' on the Post Message/ Post Reply page which when clicked would come up with
Code: [Select]
[img width=500][/img] to remind everyone not to post images larger than this ? I think 500 or possibly 750 width is the right size so even on tablet computer screens you don't have to scroll pictures.
Title: Re: Testing image sizes
Post by: bml87 on January 20, 2018, 07:46:45
No problem, Tahra. Thanks for those two useful tips (1. width only needed, saves trying to work out what the height should be to keep it in proportion, 2. [ code ] tag).

Presumably it would be possible to create an image insertion 'button' on the Post Reply page which when clicked would come up with
Code: [Select]
[img width=500][/img] to remind everyone not to post images larger than this ? I think 500 or possibly 750 width is the right size so even on tablet computer screens you don't have to scroll pictures.

If that button is a possibility, that would be a great addition! Thank you all for the great brainstorm :-) !