Author Topic: Mechanical Engineering and Dis-assembling klickies  (Read 8075 times)

Offline Timotheos

• Visitor
  • Playmo Addict
Mechanical Engineering and Dis-assembling klickies
« on: December 11, 2007, 02:20:12 »
Hiya!

I read a lot of how-tos for disassembling klickies.  Many advise me to turn the klickie's head to the left, bang it on its butt, and --wah lah!-- it comes apart.

But, I studied a disassembled klicky last night.

1) the neck is radially symmetrical except for notch under the chin that prevents the klickie's head from turning more than 180 degrees.  The notch descends into the cone of the klicky's neck hole, but doesn't penetrate the chest cavity (it is in the chest cavity where the neck is held in place by the chassis pincers).

Because the neck is, if not radially symmetrical, at least bilaterally symmetrical, at the least it doesn't matter whether you turn the head left or right.

The only possible advantage that turning the head might provide you is that the chin notch, when twisted against the restraining groove of the neck hole, pushes the head upward, perhaps giving you a slight mechanical advantage in prying off the head.

Otherwise, it doesn't appear to matter whether the head it turned right or left of facing forward.

2) The "stick-togetherness" of the klicky boils down to a pair of pincers that extend from the body chassis and grip the lower cone of the neck.  The only way to remove the head is by widening the gap between the pincers that hold the neck in place.  There are restraining structures inside the klicky torso that confine the klicky head piece to rotation around the body-spine axis, otherwise you could tilt the neck backward and slide it horizontally free from the pincers).

You can widen these pincers either

A) By forcing the rim of the lower neck cone against the chassis pincers until the sheer stress the harder neck plastic exerts against the softer chassis plastic forces the soft-plastic pincers apart.
-or-