Creative > How-To

Silver Playmo.

(1/4) > >>

Sir Gareth:
Don't you all go getting to excited about the title of this post yet.

For years now I have been trying to find a way of restoring the old silver playmobil weapons and accessories from the knights theme. I have tried several paints in the past and none of them have really given the shine that I want, although there has to be a paint out there somewhere that will do the job because that's all it is a painted finish, isn't it?

My latest attempt to restore these items took me down a different path something that I have never done before. After getting the 30 year anniversary 4430 golden knight with his real gold finish it made me think about gold plating or gilding. So I looked up this method on the net and decided that maybe it was possible to Gold/silver plate Playmo. Now that sounds expensive doesn't it but there are gold and silver looking metal leaf products out there so I have used one of them called easy metal. The sheets are 14 x 14 cm each and the pack I bought contained 10 sheets + 4 free for £6.99 so about 64p a sheet and you can get at least 10 - 12 breast plates out of 1 sheet.

The process is fairly simple.

1) clean the item you want to cover making sure it's free of grease and dust, I polished the old silver off with metal polish and then removed the polish with Methylated spirits.

2) Apply a thin coat of size ( adhesive ) to the area to be covered. This has so far been my biggest problem, I can't find the stuff anywhere near me so I tried a substitute watered down copydex. The problem was I couldn't get it thin enough and as it dried it left ridges from the brush strokes so I didn't get an even surface and these showed through.

3) After about 15 minutes apply the easy metal and tamp down with a soft cloth or brush and leave to dry for 2 -3 hours.

4) after the drying time go over the area with a soft brush with circular movements to remove any loose metal to leave a smooth finish.